demo bkgrnd


  /  About
lagff about film festival

The Los Angeles Greek Film Festival (LAGFF) showcases new films from Greece and Cyprus, and includes works by international filmmakers of Greek descent.

The Festival’s Orpheus Award is named for the legendary Greek poet and “father of songs” and is the annual prize honoring the best in Greek and Greek inspired cinema. Since the Festival’s inception in 2007, the awards night has become an integral event serving to highlight filmmakers who are changing the way we think about film. Past festival participants include award-winning directors and filmmakers such as Alexander Payne, Penelope Spheeris, Phedon Papamichael, Olympia Dukakis; studio executives such as Jim Gianopulos (Fox Filmed Entertainment Chairman) and Kary Antholis (President, HBO Films) serve on LAGFF’s Advisory Board. Past Orpheus Award Juries have included producers, directors, noted film critics, and award winning actors, including Stratton Leopold (Producer); Joan Churchill (Director/Cinematographer); Mike Goodridge (Film Critic, Screen International); Michael Economou (Screenwriter, Editor, USC Professor); Chantal Chauzy (Distributor); Lane Kneedler (Festival Programming Consultant); Bill Krohn (Film Critic, Cahier du Cinema); Gary Mairs (Co-Chairman, CalArts Graduate Film Directing).

The LAGFF team is committed to making every effort possible in order to cultivate cross-cultural communication. Such an environment of local flavor and international appeal benefits our sponsors, who enjoy exposure through TV, radio, print, and internet as well as LAGFF’s own website, catalog, and on-site events. Greek filmmakers and the American audience have a chance to inspire and be inspired by one another and discover films that under usual circumstances do not cross borders.